*

FAQ's - General Questions

  1. Looking For Employment
  2. Minimum Wage
  3. Problems with State Job Application
  4. VEC Workforce Center Hours
  5. Wage, Work Hours/Breaks, Labor Disputes, Final Paychecks & Failure To Pay Overtime
  6. Work Permits For Youth

Answers:


 

  1. Looking For Employment
    • The best way to find employment whether part time or full time is to visit the Virginia Workforce Connection website.
      • The Virginia Workforce Connection is your doorway to employment and labor market information in Virginia. You will have access to new job search tools, a resume builder, employment information, wage data, occupational skill requirements, as well as industry and occupational trends. You will have access to jobs posted on numerous websites in one location.
      • You can download the state application from the link in the left menu. The application is available in either Adobe PDF, Word Perfect or Microsoft Word formats from this site.

       

    Back to top

     
  2. Minimum Wage
    • The minimum wage is $7.25 per hour (as of July 24, 2009) and is applicable to employers of 4 or more employees. The Virginia state minimum wage law does not contain current dollar minimums. Instead the state adopts the Federal minimum wage rate by reference. For more information you may contact the Department of Labor and Industry at (804) 371-2327.
    Back to top

     
  3. Problems with State Job Application
    • The State Job Application is located on the DHRM website. If you are having any problems with the state Job Application, please contact their Webmaster.
    Back to top

     
  4. VEC Workforce Center Hours
    • Workforce Centers are generally open weekdays 8:30 am till 4:30 pm. Our offices have the option to adjust hours of service based on local community and/or agency needs. It is suggested that you contact your nearest office to determine their specific hours of operation. Part-time offices have the specific days and hours of service noted with their listing on this page.
    Back to top

     
  5. Wage, Work Hours/Breaks, Labor Disputes, Final Paychecks & Failure To Pay Overtime Back to top

     
  6. Work Permits For Youth
    • Work permits are required for individuals 14 and 15 years of age. The student should contact their junior or high school's guidance counselor. The guidance counselors have all the information and permission forms that need to be signed by a parent or guardian. For further information concerning this matter, please go to the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry’s website at: http://www.doli.virginia.gov/
    Back to top

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         
*
RSS Icon
LinkedIn Icon
YouTube Icon
*