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Virginia Announces Changes in Unemployment Insurance 
program as a result of the Federal CARES Act 

  

—$600 increase in benefits for workers— 

 

The CARES Act provides increased benefits for workers collecting unemployment 

insurance by $600 for claims effective March 29th until July 31st.  Increased benefits for 

eligible claimants under traditional unemployment insurance will start to be paid as soon 

as next week.  The Virginia Employment Commission (VEC) recently received guidance 

from the United States Department of Labor and is working to implement needed system 

changes to make this happen as soon as possible.  Payments to eligible claimants will be 

retroactive and will be made automatically in conjunction with their weekly claim.  

 

New Benefits for Previously Uncovered Workers 

Affected workers, like the self-employed, who are not eligible under traditional 

unemployment insurance may be eligible under a brand new federal program called 

Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA).  To be eligible for this new program, workers 

must first apply through traditional unemployment by visiting www.vec.virginia.gov or 

www.vawc.virginia.gov. The state is required to verify eligibility under traditional 

unemployment before allowing claimants to be considered for the new PUA program.  If 

you are determined to be ineligible for traditional unemployment, you will be contacted 

by phone (text or voice message) on how to file the supplemental information to 

complete your claim under the new PUA program.  VEC will be announcing more details 

on the start date for this new program later this week.   
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More information 

Please note that there are many requirements in the legislation and every worker has 

unique circumstances and criteria that affect eligibility.  The VEC will be posting 

additional updates on our website at vec.virginia.gov as new information is available.  

  

As a reminder, after completing an initial claim, claimants must file a weekly certification 

each following week in order to be paid.  This can be done by calling the interactive voice 

response line at 1-800-897-5630 or through your online account 

at www.vec.virginia.gov or www.vawc.virginia.gov.   
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