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Overview

B Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA)

— Created framework for federal-state partnership

— Provides funding mechanism for program
administrative funding

— Payroll tax paid by employers to IRS
— Establishes requirements for state laws
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Overview (con’t)

B State unemployment insurance laws

— Establish benefit levels and eligibility criteria
consistent with federal requirements

— Impose and collect experience-rated payroll tax
on employers to pay benefits

— Federal law limits the use of these funds to the
payment of UC benefits and refund or excess
taxes collected
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Federal Unemployment Tax-
Purpose

B Provides funding mechanism for state
program administration of Ul and Job
Service programs

B Some of the federal unemployment tax
dollars set aside for

— Federal share of extended benefits

— Loans to states
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Federal Unemployment Tax —
Rate & Wage Base

® Federal unemployment tax is set at 6%
® This tax 1s not experience-rated

B Tax rate assessed on the first $7,000 of
wages paid to each employee each year

B There 1s also an additional 0.2% surcharge
that has been in effect since the 1980°s
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FUTA Tax Credit & Conformity

B [ a state’s Ul law meets all of the
requirements 1imposed by the Federal
Unemployment Tax Act, that law 1s said to

be “in conformity”

® Employers who pay state Ul taxes into a
program that conforms to federal law

receive a 90% credit on the 6% FUTA rate
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FUTA Tax Credit & Conformity
(con’t)
® Virginia’s current Ul law 1s 1n conformity

with federal law

® Thus, Virginia employers pay a federal
unemployment tax of 0.8% (90% credit on
6% = 0.6 plus 0.2 surcharge)

® When rate applied to federal taxable wage
base of $7,000 the tax 1s a maximum of $56
per employee per year.
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Federal Requirements on State
UC Taxes

B Taxing scheme must be experience-rated

B State’s maximum tax must equal at least
5.4% to receive full FUTA tax credit

B State’s taxable wage base must at least
equal federal wage base of $7,000

B Provision for reimbursable employers
B [mmediate deposit requirement
m “SUTA Dumping” requirement
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Federal Trust Funds

B Federal unemployment tax nationwide
generates $6 to $7 billion annually

B Taxes deposited in one of three trust funds

— Administrative account to pay state costs for
program administration

— Extended Benetits account
— LLoan account
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Federal Trust Funds
(con’t)
B Prior to recession there was $45 billion

being held in the three trust funds

B Since the early 1990°s the balances in these
accounts were used to offset the federal
deficit on paper

® All three funds are currently msolvent due
to state borrowing
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[Loss of FUTA Tax Credit

B Employers can lose all or part of the 90%
credit on their federal tax if:

— State’s Ul law fails to conform to federal
requirements

— Employer fails to pay state Ul tax

— State has outstanding loan balance to the
federal government for two or more
consecutive years
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LLoss of FUTA Tax Credit Due to
[.oan Balances

B [f a state has an outstanding loan balance to the
federal government in two consecutive years, that
state’s employers will lose 0.3% of the 5.4%
FUTA tax credit

® Results in the FUTA tax rate being 1.1%, or a
maximum of $77 per employee for that year

B For each year beyond two that the state has a loan
balance an additional 0.3% reduction takes place

B The additional tax revenues are applied against the
state’s loan balance
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New Employer tax rates

B Unemployment insurance works similarly to
car insurance. You must have at least one
full year of experience ending on June 30
once you become liable to pay
unemployment msurance(UI) before your
rate can be computed. Until then your tax
rate will be non-rated.

m 2.5% New Employer rate
® 6.2% Foreign contractor rate
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Other non-rated tax rates

B Employers can be assigned a non-rated
maximum tax rate because they are eligible
for computation but have not reported
sufficient wages to be calculated or have not
paid tax due on or before September 30.

m [ ifestyle businesses — one employee
m Sufficient experience but no tax paid by 9/30

B Delinquent tax rate due to unpaid taxes

® Delinquent letters mailed August 1, arrangements to pay
must be made on or before September 1
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CAL BAL BEN BASE POOL FUND TAK ELIG RECMT
CURRENT FISCAL YEAR YERR FACTR RATIO RATE COST EBLDG RATE RTCD DATE
BENEFIT-PD  PD-TAX-PAYROLL 2010 00,50 008.5 06,20 00,28 00,20 06,68 O 112009
28292,00 0,00 2009 00,60 005.4 06,20 00,08 00,00 06,28 0 112108

2008 00,70 003,8 04,94 00,02 00,00 04,96 O 112807
2007 00,70 003,2 04,16 00,07 00,00 04,23 0 111706
2006 00,50 003,8 05,70 00,19 00,00 05,89 O 111905

CURRENT CURRENT
FISCAL-YR  BENEFIT-FD  PD TAXABLE PAYROLL
2005-2006 11535,52 157785,51
2006-2007 6487,03 113450, 02
2007-2008 9438, 00 136222,57
2008-2009 9814.00 19567.42  BENEFIT-RATIO
TOTAL 36274,55 427025.22 = 8.5

v

1/15/2010 17



Determine the ratio of beneftits
paid to paid taxable payroll

B Determine the sum of the four fiscal years
of benefits paid and paid taxable payroll for
the period ending on June 30 of the year
prior to the computation year.

B Divide the benefits paid into the paid
taxable payroll to determine the benefit
ratio. Convert 1t to a percent.
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Fund Balance Factor

m Section 60.2-533 requires the trust fund
solvency as of June 30 of each year be
calculated to determine the line of the tax
table to be used for the following yearly tax
rate computation. The fund was determined
to be 25 percent solvent as of June 30, 2009.

® The Experience rating tax table is found under Section
60.2-531. Calculated tax rates for 2010 were determined
using the Fund Balance factor of 50, the lowest fund

balance factor in the table.
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Convert the benefit ratio to a base
tax rate

B Section 60.2-531
contains the
Experience rating tax
table. In order to use
the table you will need
to know:

— The fund balance
factor

— Benefit ratio

1/15/2010



The Calculation ot the Fund
Balance Factor

ree Highest yYears' Benefits/Total Wages for 20-Year Pericd

Cost Rate:

FOUR-QUARTER BENEFITS TOTAL BENEFITS/
PERIOD (000 's) WAGES (000's) TOTAL WAGES

2159553 305,620 45,528,719 .0062 (0.62%)
2002 721,803 99,638,133 .0072(0.72%)
20038 823,550 132,322,507 .0062 (0.62%)

Average Cost Rate for Three Highest Years: . 0065 (0.65%)

Average Cost Rate x 1.38 = Fund Adeguacy Multiplier:
0.0065x 1.38 = 0.00S0 (0.S50%=)

Fund Adec¢uacy Multiplier x Teotal WwWages (7/1/08 - 6/30/08) =
Adecuate Fund Balance: 0.00380 x $132,322,507,1%82 =
$1,150,902,565

Fund-Balance Factor, June 30, 20085 = Fund Balance, 6/30/0S%*
Adecuate Fund Balance
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When the Fund Balance Factor i1s
50% or less

® A two-tenths of one percent fund building

rate 1S added to each employer tax rate
(Section 60.2-533C)

B Effective January 3, 2010, the weekly
benefit amount payable shall be reduced by

50 percent of Social Security Act benefits.
(Section 60.2-604)
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The cost to employers

B Employers pay tax on the first $8000 in wages per
employee per year in Virginia.
B The additional cost per employee for this year

comparing this year to last year:
® Fund building charge of .2% - $16
® Pool cost - $16
— Pool cost for 2008 was .08%
— Pool cost for 2009 is .28%
B The employer base rate may have gone up or

down depending on their experience record.
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Pool Cost Charges

B Pool costs are benefit charges that could not
be attributed to a specific employer
therefore the costs are paid by all tax paying
employers. 60.2-532

B [nactive employers

® Claim costs greater than max rate

® Net combined wage claims

® Non-charged under Sec. 60.2-528C

® Trust fund charges
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Reimbursable Employers

Semyenaese 7/ /1Y)

insured

— State and local
government

— Nonprofit —501.c.3
— Indian Tribes
3304(a)(6)A, FUTA
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Reimmbursement

B Reimbursable employers are billed and
must repay the total cost of benefit
payments attributed to employment with the
employer.

B The percentage of the employer’s wages in
the base period of the unemployment
insurance claim determines the amount

billed.

1/15/2010 26



Calculation of reimbursable bill

B [f claimant received ® The reason for leaving
$300 and the employer last 30 day employer
paid 50% of the wages in Virginia determines
in the base period of claimant eligibility
the claim, the B The reimbursable
employer bill would employer may not be
be $150. the last 30 day

employer but they will

still be responsible for
any bills that are due.
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Illustration of Base Period
- the base period 1s the first four of the last five quarters prior

Base penod is the shaded area If Claim is Filed in;

JUL
FEB MAY
JUN SEP
APR JUL OCT APR
FEB MAY NOV MAY
JUN DEC JUN

JUL JUL
FEB AUG
JUN SEP DEC SEP
JUL OCT OCT »
SEP DEC JUN DEC

Pnor Year Last Year This Year
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Resources

B Federal Unemployment Tax Act, 26 USC
3301, et seq

B Virginia Unemployment Compensation Act,
Code of Virginia Title 60.2-100, et seq

® USDOL Annual Comparison of State
Unemployment Compensation Laws

® USDOL Quarterly Ul Data Summary

B VEC’s Economic Information Services
Division
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